corsasport.co.uk

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Off Day » Geek Day » Jobs in system administration.

New Poll
  Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.

Author Jobs in system administration.
poole

User status: Offline
5th Jan 07 at 16:01   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I've come to a point in my life where i'm stuck.

I've self taught myself alot of stuff (alas no uni degree) however i was wondering if there was anyone with linux sysadmin experience who could help me?

At the minute im very familiar with the main distros (debian, rhel, centos, fedora etc....) on an OS level and i'm also very experienced in kernel configuration and drivers.

I know how to use and configure all the mainstream opensource software (apache, lighttpd, exim, courier, OpenSSH etc....) on a small scale but i'm stuck.

I'm proficient in PHP programming language wise and tend to pick things up very quickly once I've had a look at the documentation. (I know a bit of bash and python).

Currently i work in technical support for an ISP where i use none of my technical knowledge whatsoever which doesn't help much but the main problem is having no previous experience working on large scale systems and not being able to walk straight into a sysadmin job.

Does anyone have any advise where i should move from here?

The way i see it i have the following options:

A) Get a certification and a decent sysadmin job.
B) Move to london and work as a monkey in a datacentre.
C) Give up and do something else.

(excuse spelling and grammar mistakes wrote this quickly at work).
Shane

5th Jan 07 at 16:03   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

A
willay