corsasport.co.uk

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Off Day » Who still lives at home?

New Poll
  <<  1    2    3    4  >> Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.

Author Who still lives at home?
Paul_J

User status: Offline
26th Jul 10 at 20:48   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Just thought I'd see what the general consensus on CS is.

I have not lived at home full time for about 4 or 5 years. I was a student living in shared houses at university, then went travelling and have been renting a flat since I have returned.

Truthfully I never realised how much money it would cost to live away from home properly (not at uni), with rent, council tax, bills, food, etc you're probably looking at, at least £800 a month going out.

I've realised one of two things recently.

One I'm not going to be able to afford a decent mortgage for a house for a fair while at the current rate of saving, I'm not talking about a 10% deposit mortgage - I'm talking about a decent one ~ 20-30% deposit (so not totally raped by high interest rate).

The other thing I realised was that I'm not totally sure where I want to settle, whether it's around where I am at the moment, perhaps london, perhaps somewhere else?

Therefore I have decided that in about a months time I'll move back in with my parents short term, to help me save as much money as possible (probably a year?). I really get on well with my parents, so that should be ok, but the thought of living back at home scares me.

Overall I see it as a short term sacrifice for a long term gain. I don't want to end up like the guy who lives in the flat above me, 35 years old renting and still no where near a decent deposit.