corsasport.co.uk

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Off Day » Snap Day » Rally Photography (help)

New Poll
  Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.

Author Rally Photography (help)
John G

User status: Offline
4th Sep 11 at 14:43   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Next weekend im going to be doing abit of picture taking of a rally on our local prom, yesterday i bought a Canon EOS 350D SLR Camera with a 18-55mm Lens, HOY 58mm Filter 1B, 2BG Flash Memory Card, Sigma 70-300mm F4-5.6 DG Macro, but in all honestly im totally new to it all so i need to learn all the settings, what settings would you use to shoot rallying/motorsport? also should i be using any particular filter to block out any harsh sun light?

[Edited on 04-09-2011 by John G]
Matt L

4th Sep 11 at 18:08   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Firstly - set the camera in af focusing mode and as its your first time i would set the camera up in shutter priorty mode also and set it to around 1/80 roughly go lower if you feel you can, then it is just a case of practicing panning as the day goes on and messing with shutter speeds as you see fit.

obviously the lower you go ie 1/60 and so on the more blur you will get and the longer the exposure will be and the quicker you go 1/100 the more static the car will be.

iso i would set to around 250ish (higher if the camera is under exposing images) and aperture will be set for you by the camera as its in aperture mode.

as for filters, id either get uv (does nothing imo other than protect the lens) or get a cicular polarising filter as this will help reduce glare/light going into the lens (not by much but it helps).