corsasport.co.uk

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Off Day » Geek Day » Sony BluRay + Denon Amp = FAIL!

New Poll
  Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.

Author Sony BluRay + Denon Amp = FAIL!
Balling
Premium Member

User status: Offline
   26th Apr 12 at 10:45   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Just realized this weekend, that the Denon 2310 + Sony 470 combo I have been running for the last two years has never been able to decode HD surround tracks.

A stupid fucking factory default setting on the Sony player downsamples all HD tracks to PCM.
This was pointed out to me by a bloke who came by to buy the Denon amp off me.

Turning it on resultet in a bright shining HD logo that I've not seen in the two years of owning the amp and will never see again.

Had I opened the manual I would have seen this explained on page 4...

Got a Sony BluRay player? Go in settings and turn "BD Audio Mix" off!!!

Balling
Premium Member

26th Apr 12 at 10:46   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Oh... [/rant] btw!

Dom

26th Apr 12 at 10:49   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Noob

What are you replacing the Denon with?
AlunJ

26th Apr 12 at 10:50   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

gutted
John

26th Apr 12 at 11:02   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

My TV used to default to PCM all the time (think a firmware update has fixed it) and I could almost always tell straight away, sounds completely different from DD.
Balling
Premium Member

26th Apr 12 at 13:10   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by Dom
Noob