corsasport.co.uk

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Off Day » House Day » Working on domestic wiring / rewiring a house

New Poll
  Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.

Author Working on domestic wiring / rewiring a house
luke85

User status: Offline
28th Jan 09 at 15:44   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Im an electrician by trade but have been into the industrial side of things since I left college 5 years ago so Im a little rusty with this lot. Basically I did a national diploma then a HNC in electrical and electronic engineering and also did my 16th edition wiring regualtions (now outdated)

But anyways Im going to be buying a house sometime soon and one Ive looked at seems to need a fair bit of work doing with the wiring, its pretty old and only has one plug for the whole of the upstairs!

What qualifications do you need to go and work at re-wiring and modifying domestic wiring for the public (as a job)?

How do I stand re-wiring/modifying my own house? (Im probably a little rusty but will be able to do all the calculations if I got my old college work out)

After all the 16th edition wiring regulations told me about cable sizes, disconnection times and earth loop impedances, it never mentioned where the best place to route all the wires is? under the floorboards, in the plaster?

Would be great to hear from anyone who does something like this for a living to clear a few points up, thanks
Dave86

28th Jan 09 at 16:06   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote